S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

One more doctor's appointment downrange

Posting another day of boring trivia. Please don't nod off too quickly.

We have been sorting out stuff to take with us on the first trip up to the new place in Shelburne that can fit into the car. As you can imagine, that list is going to remain fairly short - just an inflatable mattress, bedclothes, a pillow or two, some clothes and some kitchen utensils along with some but not all of the stuff in the boat's fridge and freezer.

On the 4th the moving company will arrive at the storage unit to load up and will unload in Shelburne on the following day. Then I get to rush back to the Sqn to haul Nelleke and pull out the shaft to take in to Lunenburg to have a new key cut in it and the transmission coupling.

On the medical side, I had my wee chat with Scott Bagnell, my urologist who will try to get me into the OR soonest to extract the kidney stones, one in each kidney, that have been a source of annoyance to me for the last several months. He tells me that he won't guarantee me that the procedure will alleviate my backaches but at least it will remove them as a possible cause.

What fun, eh? I won't go into the details but the procedure sure looks interesting. If you are anything like me you would like to be awake to watch but Scott knows me too well I'm afraid. He knows that I won't be able to keep my mouth shut and will constantly be asking him questions or making accompanying sound effects such as a loud pop each time that he extracts a stone from the end of free Willie. (Barb just giggled. She calls it Wee Willie)

Comments