S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Home again after the process

Sorry for my absence but I have just gotten over most of the aftermath of the process for my kidney stones. The lithotripsy or sonic hammer treatment wasn't working so I asked for a process which, without going into the details, involved dye, x-ray, optical fiber scopes and a grappling hook. To put it mildly the trip back to Shelburne was sheer torture, but here we are and things are better this morning. Whew! Barb, in spite of her own particular recovery from her knee scope, has been a superwoman in continuing the move and unpacking to say nothing of picking me up from the hospital and driving me home listening to me groaning in the passenger seat beside her.

We have received the flooring to repair the living room floor and I am hoping that the saw that will make my job easier will be here tomorrow. Then the only thing that we will be waiting on will be the visit from Kayt and Chris. Don't mind waiting for that. Barb has most of the boxes emptied and cleared away so we are feeling comfortable about having visitors over for dinner so Sunday I am going to whip up a storm of curry from our neighbors. When I do up a curry I grind up the spices from scratch so I am hoping to make a good impression. Barb has put together fsome Indian appetizers and deserts to compliment the meal so it should be a great evening. Maybe if son Chris shows up in time he will be able to join us.

On Nelleke I have the first two coats of bottom pain on and the shaft out and delieverd to the Lunenburg Foundry to have a new keyway cut in it. I had a great consult with the shop foreman who gave me some great advice so when done I am expecting to have a much better coupling than before, stronger and more secure. I just have to wait for them to get it done which might be a long as a month but it'll be worth it.

Comments