S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Hurray! We have gotten the shaft!

The shaft that we have gotten is a positive one, that is to say, we have recovered the shaft, coupling and prop from the Lunenburg Foundry. They did a great job and the price was about what we expected. I was a little disappointed as I had prayed that somehow it would cost less, but at the end of the day we have the unit back with a much more reliable coupling and I will try to install it tomorrow or Friday when I go back to the boat so we might be able to launch next week sometime.

Hurray!

Barb and I took Peri along with us and explored the South Shore from the land side between Port Medway and Lunenburg, both to locate a beach where we could give him some sand time and places where we might be able to come in with Nelleke. We succeeded on both counts. We found a great almost abandoned beach in the La Have islands and several places where we could gunk hole in to anchor now that the shaft is safely going to be connected to the transmission.

We were also looking for a house like ours with the Mansard roof which still had the cupola or enclosed widow’s walk on the roof. I wanted a photo to see the construction technique so we would have a planning point for restoring one on our house. Essentially these things are a small room on the top of the house with a commanding view of the surroundings, in our case, the town and harbor. Our house was built with one but at some point one of the previous owners tore it down. Barb and I would both like to see it put back. Imagine having sundowners all year round up there.

I also have the laptop back so there are no more excuses for not posting more regularly. That plus I will be able to get back to my various writing projects that I have underway.

Again, hurray!

Comments