S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Working the bugs out….

Today we had planned to head on into Halifax to be there tonight and to stay in the motor home waiting for the surgery tomorrow. Two things intervened: first, I never got a call from the hospital bureaucrats who were supposed to schedule the surgery so I am not sure when I am supposed to be in there; and second, we have been making a list of things that need being worked on in the motor home and although none of them are End of Days sort of thing, together they amount to enough that I would prefer to get them done before heading off on any long distance travels in her. The one thing that really bothers me is that there is an intermittent fault in the instruments so that sometime the fuel gauge, the engine temperature and oil pressure are out. I still have speed and voltmeter but I am a big believer that you have to be able to trust your instruments both on a boat and in the car (and I would imagine in an airplane) and if you can't in short, you're screwed. She’ll be going back into the garage this week to get them looked after. We were able to go far enough to fill up the propane tank and to get an idea of the gas mileage, $100 for a full propane tank and about 13 mpg or 3.1kpl for anyone who’s interested.

We’ll be driving down to Halifax in the car, just for the day, and Barb will have the wherewithal to drive around town, while I am in noddyland, to get some of her chores done.


Comments