S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Visit with Chris and getting some projects done

Last night was a little chilly so I am really glad that the propane heater on the MoHo was working. I got up in the middle of the noght to check on everything and scanned the internet for a place to get the generator fixed and another to dump the holding tanks anyone looking out their windows at us parked in our son's laneway mist have been wondering what was going on As it was when I got up to take Peri out there was a layer of frost on everything.

The combination that o lost turned out to be the one on the generator so we had to buy a bolt cutter to get it loose to be able to take it in to the Yamaha dealer. I figured that the problem was older fuel that had grown "bugs" and fouled the float chamber and needle valves. The mechanic agreed with me and although the job is something that I would normally do myself the way those little generators are designed you have to practically disassemble the whole engine to get at the carb so I'd rather pay them for an hour's work and hold them accountable. At any rate, the job is done and the generator is back in its spot on the cargo rack and ready for action.

We also drained the holding tanks. Shitty job. 'Nuff said.

One of Chris' neighbors was kind enough to come over with a jar of homemade jam and have a chat. Nice lady with loads of positive stuff to say about our son which any parent will agree is always nice to hear.

We bought a couple of books to read tonight while Chris is at work and I am taking a break from reading to thumb this on the iPhone. Tomorrow we'll take a short day long tour of the old town here and get ready for a Saturday departure for Ottawa.


Comments