S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Upcoming surgery

As Mike mentioned yesterday, my left total knee replacement will take place on February 29th. Mike hit most of the high points but here goes the update from my perspective.

I will stay focused on the end result as what I know of the actual surgery is pretty gruesome - 'nuff said about that. I have a top-notch surgeon with an excellent team; quite a well-greased machine. There is a physiotherapy clinic here in Shelburne so I won't need to travel the 4.5 hour round trip to Halifax very often. This house we bought is set up pretty well for recovery. One of the previous owners was an elderly lady so I get to benefit from the changes that were made for her in the downstairs bathroom. Just the fact that there is a downstairs bathroom in such an old house is a bonus in itself. It is equipped with a higher than standard toilet and a wall bar. There is also a safety bar in the shower. The laundry is on the main floor. When we bought the small sofa for the TV room/den we purchased a Lazy-Boy flip out with an air filled topper for the mattress. With those advantages I can exist on the main floor and not face Mount Everest (the 17 stairs to the second floor) for as long as I need to. Now, I wonder how I will do with having to ask for help to get things done - I like my independence so that will have to go on hold for a bit I suppose.

Mike talked a bit about what we can get done in the house. I have to finish removing the cushion floor and tiles in the kitchen - I have a better technique now - sitting on my keister on a knee-high stool, bend forward with knees apart and whack away with the hammer and chisel - slow going but effective. Whoever laid the floor and the tiles before that had a love affair with glue... This method is much easier on the knees and back and makes for a great thigh stretch. After the floor is as clear as I can get it Mike will use a rented floor sander and edger. Somewhere along the way I have to empty out the cabinets and Mike and I will pull them out without wrecking them as we have promised them to our neighbour. Then the carpenters arrive to install the ones we have on order from TimbrMart here in town. I expect to be able to get the small foyer painted, needs one more coat, then I have to remove the wallpaper trim in the downstairs bathroom and paint the walls and cabinet. I also have a canvas repair job to finish - won't be bored, will I? When I do get to sit I am working on several knitting projects - two of KT's friends are having babies and I need some special things for them, the knitting group I joined has been asked to make a blanket as a Library fundraiser, I have had an order for a hat like the one I made for KT for Christmas, I have a pair of socks and a sweater on the go for me - seems odd to be knitting for myself as most everything I make has been given as presents...

Well I had better get away form the keyboard and get at it hadn't I?

Comments