S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

The day after.....

..... the deed has been done! I am now wed to the bionic woman.

At 1300 yesterday I gave Barb a goodluck smooch and secretive fondle and off she went with one of the surgical nurses for what must have been for her a nervous stroll down the surgical equivalent of the Green Mile.

I was supposed to get a call when she was done which considering the surgeon is extremely punctual and was supposed to start at 1400 and the surgery takes one hour and recovery another hour would have meant that I could expect a call around 1600, right? Well 1600 came and went. 1700 rolled along and still nothing! Our daughter called and "reminded" me that when Barb had her hernia operation in Montreal apparently she almost bled to death. I say apparently because I didn't know anything about this but you can imagine what that did to my frame of mind and her's (daughter's I meant. Barb would still have been under). Well around about 1800 I said screw it I am going back in and rattle some heads if I had to only to find her sitting up in bed happy as a clam albeit a little groggy from the pain mess she was on. Apparently they were short on nursing staff so they hadn't gotten around to calling me.

Sigh.

Mustn't complain. The surgery went well apparently without complications. She had quite a crowd in the theatre as the surgeon is one of the top Bones guys in the world and he is about to retire so there were all sorts of "baby" doctors in there to get some pointers from the master.

I am waiting for a seminar to start which will run for the morning after which I will pay her another visit before Peri and I head on back to Shelburne. Daughter will come down to Halifax to bring Barb home sometime on the weekend. That means I will have to tough it out without Barb for two or three more nights.

O the sacrifices that I have to make for that woman!

Comments