S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

The Gods Wuz Angry Last Night

Begining yesterday afternoon the winds picked up to over 50 kph and gusting higher overnight. We got nice warm temperatures but boy o boy did it blow! This morning we're picking up tree limbs and checking to see if anything came down and damaged property. Closer to home we have been having some issues with the shingles on our roof and when I got up this morning I half expected to see bare boards up there just in time for the rainfall that we are getting this morning. Fortunately that didn't happen. We lost a couple more shingles but not too extensively. Nothing for it. We wioll have to reshingle that side of the roof. It needed doing, I guess this is simply nature's way of saying get on with it.

We're not sure yet if Kayt is staying for another day or not as the wind and rain might make the driving back to Halifax problematic. She had planned a weekend of skiing but the mild weather might have put the toast to that too. I am awaiting news.

Tomorrow I am getting another art lesson, this time from one of the local artists, a watercolour artist named Lio. I have seen her stuff and it is really excellent so I am looking forward to her teaching me some of her techniques.

Comments