S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Yaaaaaawn!

Really weird weather that we’re having, eh? I mean, double digit temperatures here in Atlantic Canada and snowstorms up and down the eastern seaboard. Our friends Duane and Dianne aboard Diva Di seem to be sailing into a snow fall. Not exactly what they had in mind for a summer’s cruise I’m sure.

Barb’s knee is coming along really well. So well in fact that I am starting to pull by drill sergeant routine on her to push her just a little harder which I feel comfortable in doing as she has been healing up very nicely. Except, I must add, for this rash and infection that she picked up from some ointment that she was told to put on her incision to minimize the scarring. Well, perhaps her scar will be smaller or at least less pronounced, but now she has some lovely red spots on her lower legs compliments of an itch, some scratching and the ensuing infection. She is now gobbling antibiotics and the rash is going down but it was one thing that she really didn’t need.

Barb, the mighty huntress, caught the season’s first tick on the wonder-hound’s back and managed to get him off before he had a chance to burrow in. One more good reason for keeping Peri’s fur short in the summer as it gives us a chance to see the little beggars before they can hide in the foliage.

We have done our taxes, or rather our accountant has done our taxes, and coises! We, or I, still owe the government some dough. Oh well. At least it isn’t as much as the last time. Barb, on the other hand gets a return which I think is due to income splitting since she didn’t work outside the home last year. Next year we should do better as I have asked them to take yonks off as taxes, we are making significant deposits to the RRSP (retirement plan for the uninitiated), plus I have some holdover from last year that I can claim now that I actually have an income.

Oh well. Enough of the drudgery. Put an end to the boring drivel. We should all get back to reading the blogs of folks that are actually off sailing.

Comments