S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Planning for the weekend

I am back at the grind again figuring on trying to get as much done as I can today and tomorrow so I can take Friday off to head on into Halifax again to bring Nelleke back. Whew, what a mad dash-about life we lead.

Putting the shaft coupling on was quite the adventure I can tell you. The new one was very snug with a take no prisoners style of key and keyway so when it came to putting it on there was a great deal of body English put into the effort. It took a full day but eventually it was on and I spent the rest of the trip getting things sorted out for the trip back. On Friday after the launch we will be doing the rest of it along with two small electrical tasks that I need to do. Barb, meanwhile, will be cleaning out everything and getting stuff back in order.

I am madly scrambling looking for someone to crew with me on the trip but if I can’t get anyone I will just single hand it. It is about an 18 hour trip so that is quite doable without having to sleep. It’s just that I’d enjoy the company.

As for here in Shelburne we are taking delivery of the three peach trees that we have bought for the yard and will probably be planting them tonight and tomorrow if we can. Otherwise it will be after we bring the boat back from Halifax.

Comments