S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Empty Nesters Again


Boy! Does it ever feel different now that our daughter’s little guy isn’t at home with us any more. I have to admit that I was more than a little surprised at how much we had grown used to dealing with only adults and visits from small people were only that – visits. On this occasion he was here for almost a week and it took some getting used to, mostly in the area of getting the house “kid proofed” but also in our patience quota. Don’t get me wrong, he is a great little guy; it was wonderful to have him visit; and he can come back any time. We now have an idea of what to expect of him and in ourselves.

Yesterday I was a baaaaaaaaad boy. It was our 34th wedding anniversary and guess who remembered it and who forgot. Three guessed and the first two don’t count. I had better do a better job of it next year for our 35th or life won’t be worth living. Herself was very forgiving but I know that she was disappointed and probably a little hurt. I tried to make things up to her by offering to take her out to dinner at our one and only haut cuisine spots here in town but wouldn’t-cha know it – they are closed on Sundays. Instead I BBQed us some nice pork souvlaki and washed it down with some wine. Too much wine truth be told, and before the evening was out I was nodding off. Boy when I blot my copybook I really do a complete job I can tell you. Maybe I’ll be able to take her out on night this week.

The Chateau Turney Vineyard has been planted with 10 L’Acadie Blanc plants and four Marechal Foch one in separate beds. Just to add a little spice we also have some high bush blueberry plants in there as well. So everything is in there and hopefully establishing roots and getting ready for a long life. The only other piece of gardening that I am wanting to do is adding a small pond for water plants and either koi, if I can find them or goldfish if I cannot. I understand that goldfish will grow into their enclosure so that will be just as good. We are also going to expand the patio in the middle of the yard by about 30% so that the lawn furniture including the BBQ and fire pit will all fit on it.

I have been able to get some of the list of jobs done aboard Nelleke but the biggie, the work on the engine throttle linkage etc will be done by a mechanic sometime next week. Then I have to get at the list of the rest of the stuff to be done. Oh, and make a few trips like we have been promising ourselves.

Barb is making me a re-enactment costume. Now there’s a bit of news! I am going to be a sailor from the 18th or 19th century to coincide with our Founder’s Days celebrations and Tall Ships. I will even wear it to work for the next couple of weeks just to startle the rest of the staff.

Comments