S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Brrrr! The frost was definitely on the pumpkin last night

We still haven’t gotten Nelleke out for her winter nap on the dirt. We tried on Monday but the winds were so high I couldn’t get her into the haulout slip safely so we aborted to wait for a better day. It now looks like next Monday will be the magic day with Tuesday as the “rain” or wind day. Right now it looks like it might be raining but I can live with that.

The last few days have been cold at night, warming up a bit during the day; a far cry for last fall. I hope that this isn’t the harbinger of things to come for the winter. With luck I am hoping that it will be another milder one like last year.

Barb is off on her stitch and stretch or her knitting and yoga retreat and will return tomorrow. She is having a great time by all accounts. Part of me is jealous. She shouldn’t be having all that good of a time without me.... She’ll be back tomorrow when I get home from work so I have that to look forward to.

Yesterday I met a Quebecois couple from Chambly who were taking their boat, a Cabo Rico 42 south for the winter. We had a great chat, mostly about the Gulf of Maine transit and Long Island Sound. They have done a far amount of sailing in the Bahamas and southern US, mostly rentals I am guessing, but this is the first time that they have taken their own boat south and have never done the jump across a three day trip or through Long Island. I was really envious of their voyage and am really feeling the dust between my toes even more than normal.

If anyone sees a Cabo Rico called Marsea say “Hi!” to them. They are nice folk.

That’s enough for today. I am going to feel sorry for myself for a little while.

Comments