S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

OK. The stock market is back to normal ----- Boo!


So are some of the councillors here at work-------Boo!

Oh well. I guess they are paying me for something. I just didn’t realize that it is to put up with a certain amount of crap from the crap dispensers., otherwise known as politicians. C’mon, Mike. Hang in there! Just another few months.....Keep telling yourself that if you hang in for another year the cruising kitty will be completely replenished.......this time next year, this time next year, this time next year.....

The weather is almost to the point that we can start to work on the boat. I am looking at the first of April to start the work on the hull and then gradually start at the chain locker and work aft for the rest of the stuff with a target date of the first of May or thereabouts for a launch.

Hurrah! This year we will be away as many weekends as we can and for whatever holidays we choose to take. I am trying to bank as much leave as I can so that when we put to sea again for the first couple of months we will have a third source of income besides our two pensions.

We have been watching some blogs from our friends, trying to keep in touch, happy for the ones that are still at sea, and simply glad they’re OK for the ones that aren’t. Simply strange how things and priorities change for people no matter how much they have planned over the years. Last weekend we went out to look at a piece of property with about 60 A of land and 5000’ of water frontage including three ponds, two fresh and one salt, with a beautiful home, barn and workshop. This is the sort of place that if we ever win a lottery or something that I could be persuaded to at least partially swallow the anchor and start some projects ashore. The problem is that we would have to win big as the asking price is about $995,000Cdn. We couldn’t even make the down payment. Still, it’s always nice to dream. Maybe someday I will stumble across a nice rich lady who will buy it for me for my favours.....what’s that, Barb? I’m not worth it?! How crushing!

Comments