S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Back at the keyboard......


Sorry for the delay,
but what the hey,
if I’ve nothing to say,
must I really babble?

.......or write crappy limericks. I am one of those people who used to write my wife poetry, trying to be all romantic, but it always seemed that my muse would hit me when I was on the head. Before long Barb found out about this and she began to refer to it as my “Potty Poetry” and is encouraging me to collect them into a small book. I am pretty good at meter and getting words together but when you are waxing poetic about the enjoyment of the moment when that moment is enthroned it would be a hard stretch to call it great literature. Still........

Anyway....I had thought that there would be only a week or two before we could start to work on Getting Nelleke ready for the spring launch, but then the weather witches reared up and surprised me with 15cm of the white stuff and then are forecasting another couple of cm over the next couple of days. I still have my fingers crossed to be able to get to work in early April so I can do the hard stuff while we are still on the dirt, but we will have to play that by ear or by thermometer as it were. Climate change doesn’t necessarily mean that we won’t be having some cold snaps, it is merely an expression of general trend and this year, although the trend remains warmer, there have still be some cold times.

I get my cruising fix at the moment by watching the Silverheels III blog. They are currently in Guadeloupe island and port hopping. I wonder if they have seen the TV crews that come there to film the Brit TV detective show “Death in Paradise”, which is filmed there apparently and is developing a large following. One of these days maybe we will be in some place where are actually filming something. It’s be fun to watch. There are a lot of movies and TV shows filmed in NS be we never seem to be in the right place at the right time. Obviously they don’t exactly advertise that they are doing anything at any particular moment so as to not encourage lookie lous like me to show up and clutter the surroundings. Still I would like to luck in on one someday.

Comments