S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

We’re off! Well, no, maybe we aren’t.....


We got started on the weekend with cleaning off Nelleke’s underwater profile. There isn’t a whole lot to do. Most of it is simply dried crud that is stuck to it. The stuff near the waterline can be wiped off with a stiff brush but the deeper you go the denser and thicker the coverage is so pressure washer here we come. There is no water or power at the yard where we are keeping her on the hard but there is a fire hydrant. I have an adapted that will step down the output from the hydrant to accommodate a garden hose so that only left our little generator to supply the power. We got about a quarter of the way down the port side when there was suddenly no pressure. When I checked things over I found that the high pressure hose from the pump to the wand had blown. Coises! Anyway, the pressure washer that we have is of course no longer made and there are no replacement parts available. We were fortunate to find a replacement wand and hose at the local hardware store so we were go to go on that after only a 24 hour delay so last evening we were back at the boat ready to rock and roll only to have the generator jam up on me. I hope to have it cleared by the end of the day today but of course the forecast is for rain, rain and again more rain. It now appears that the earliest that I can expect to be able to get back at the boat will be the weekend. Timing will be good as I will be heading into Halifax for a medical appointment on Friday the 3rd and will be picking up the antifouling then. The docks are going back in the water on the 4th so if I can get her painted during the week I might be able to launch sometime towards the end of the week. Hurrah! We can shake the dust off her and get her over her salt water withdrawal symptoms.

It is still a wee bit chilly to be cruising anywhere but I expect that in a couple of weeks that should change considerably. Those few weeks will give me a chance to tidy her up below decks as well as, weather permitting, to finish off the brightwork on beck. I have a job to do on the main cabin heater that will allow it to become a “fireplace” as well as a simple heater which will make it a lot easier to extend the edges of the season for us.

Some of the pre-cruise tasks that I have to do are:

1. Reinstall the repaired anchor windlass motor
2. Fix the port running light
3. Get the radar working again
4. Scuff sand the interior and re-varnish
5. Re-oil the cabin floor

The other jobs are all things that I can do over time and during the week. These are sort of must haves in order to be able to safely sail even in the local area.

Comments