S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

By the twiddling of my thumbs,

One of the problems with working is that when I get home from work each night I really have to summon up the "whatever" to get myself in gear to get on with other work either about the house or at the boat. Sometimes, I must admit, that the rain is just a very convenient excuse for not doing anything aboard. I really wish that we could win the lottery or something so that I could just resign and get on with doing what I or we want to do rather than spending all of my energy during the day on the Town's problems. Oh well. At least they are paying me.

I am looking at a couple of things that we could do with our son when he comes up to visit in particular boaty things. I was thinking that on one day, if the seas aren't too high, we could head on out to either Jig Rock or Gull Rock or both at the mouth of the harbour and see if we can catch some fish. I have it on the best authority that there is good fishing in those spots. I have marked where I am talking about on the attached shot. The lower one is Jig and the other Gull. I will let you know sometime next week if my informants were accurate about the available fish.

It will be Canada Day this weekend so although Shelburne doesn't do anything there is a bit of a "do" in the neighbouring town of Lockeport. The club sponsors a race from Shelburne down there which we entered last year but have decided to avoid this year. There was almost no wind and by the time that we got there the parade and most of the festivities were over. This year we plan to drive down to see things instead. It will give me some time on the weekend to actually work on some of my projects on the boat as well which would be nice to say the least.

We have also been looking for new spots to gunkhole to on the weekend of 6-7 July and are in the process of considering a return trip to Cape Negro on Friday night with a Saturday junket on into Big Island just to see what that is like. Another nearer option would be to sail around into Jordan Bay and check out a couple of the islands in there just to put them in our inventory of places to go and things to see.

Comments