S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Second post for the day.....

.....making up for lost time, I guess.

Spent the day working on the port running light. Onset Marine staff were excellent helping out but I can't say as much for the management staff. How're! 'Nuffi said. At the end I have a new bulb for that light and I'll get a replacement to carry in case the problem re-occurs.

I have also been summoning up the courage to go up the mast to fix the radio and the wind vane. Every time I got ready the wind came up so it got delayed. I guess tomorrow will be the magic day. My concern is not the height but rather the fact that I an a 200+lg guy and Barb, who will be cranking me up, well, isn't. We have done it before and 60% of the trip has ladders so perhaps it will be OK.

I did some grocery shopping and discovered that Onset ain't the place to be doing that as we got raped for a few basics. Oh well. When there I bumped into Wolfie and his wife off the aluminium cutter who we first bumped into in Shelburne. They left today for Cuttyhunk and from there to NYC. They will be there for a while so I expect that we will cross wakes again down the road.

Lazy night tonight having sundowners in the cockpit followed by wine and wieners for diner. I wonder what the landlubbers are doing? (The Admiral has insisted on an addendum here to point out that they were in fact sweet Italian sausages and that we had some carrots from Robin's garden and some of our tomatoes as well. Never are we to eat crappy old super market hot dogs!)

Comments