S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Nelleke becomes a dock queen again

Away down the ditch.....

.....and back in Titusville, once again with the assistance of current and wind. I am very glad that we left this morning for as we were crossing the Mosquito Lagoon the wind really piped up and began blowing the tops off whitecaps so when we tucked into the marina we were chilled to the bone and glad for the stop.

Folks following the blog may have noticed that my friend Snoozer has taken me to task for my comments on Remittance Men, saying that since I am a pensioner, I am one too, and in a way he is right. But when I made my remarks I wasn't thinking of pensioners. I was thinking more of the Kipling-esque sort of guy, the errant or illegitimate son who had blotted his copybook somehow, bad debts, forged cheque, cheated at exams and gotten sent down, something like that wherein he has shamed the family so they send him off to the colonies with an allowance and told to make something of himself to be restored in the eyes of the family, or quietly and decently fade away and disappear into an alcoholic haze never to darken the doorstep of his betters again. Those are the sort of guys that I see in the beat off, run down boats anchored off with three, four, and in one case, six anchors, usually a short dingy row to a seedy waterfront bar. Some remittance men that I have met have taken the alternative course and made something of themselves, one I know of has become the mayor of a community in Nova Scotia. Today we saw a number of these derelict but inhabited boats permanently anchored right across the ICW from some very nice houses. I know that if I owned one of those houses I wouldn't be too happy about the view.

Now, the rest of the day will be a relaxing one before starting into getting the boat cleaned up ready for Kayte's arrival.

Comments