S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Wake up at the dock....

Sigh!

First night spent alongside and I must say that docker's remorse is almost gone. You know what that is don't you? That's the feeling you have as a cruiser when you lie there thinking that you have spent $150/month more than you could have gotten away with. Fortunately that was compensated for by the ease of getting Peri ashore last night, a hot tub, a shower, and a swim in a pool, all included in the dockage fee for the extra $150. I awoke in the middle of the night saying to myself that we can shower, swim and hot tub as much as we like. So now my vision is about swims in the ocean, followed by a freshwater dip. I think I can suffer through that. My biggest strain will be to stay away from the bar and restaurant where everything can be charged to the dock.

Some of our friends have pointed out the fact that some of the photos are not right side up and I do appreciate and make note of those comments. I even try to act on them. Sailblogs shows me the photo before it goes up but somehow between the edit page and getting through the ether, out to the web, and up on your screens, some server or my computer decides that IT knows better and rotates the image. I am trying to figure out and resolve the problem. Not at all helped by slow wifi.

This morning, aided by access to 120VAC power we have begun to level the intermediate water tank under the main salon table. Barb came up with the idea that I had been avoiding but once she came up with it I was totally unable to come up with a single reasonable argument why we shouldn't do what she suggests, namely, drain and remove the tank and have the necessary space to put the levelling shims in place and then reinstall the tank and hook up the connections. I can't believe that I hadn't wanted to do this simply because.....well....I don't know why because. That will be a job for tomorrow AM.

The one thing about being alongside is that the boat won't swing to point into the wind so we had taken down our wind scoop. Today we decided to experiment with putting it up at 90 degrees to starboard which was the direction of the current wind. Works fine. We will just need to rearrange it whenever the wind shifts.

Barb was planning another laundry today, bless 'er. I was running out of Ts and tidy whities. Unfortunately, they have run out of laundry tokens and it is the weekend so no one knows how to unlock the machines and take out the used tokens, so we will be doing laundry tomorrow. We both went to the pool instead. What a place! 1030 in the morning and we are hanging out in the pool.

We treated ourselves to some fru-fru drinks at the bar and decided to relax and hang out this afternoon. Barb is already talking about reading a book at poolside and I am thinking about making coleslaw for dinner. Slurp!

Comments