S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Fishing! Yea!

Today Chris and I were up fairly early to get ready to go offshore with the guys who are taking us fishing. Off we went and through the Talloo Cut. Boy did I get seasick! But I am lucky. When I suffer from mal de mer it is over quickly and then I can get on with it. The first hour or so was miserable until I was able to involuntary chum and get it over with.

Chris struck first with a 30 pound dolphin then one of the other guys did too and then at one time there were three fish on lines at the same, Steve and Donna and me. The others landed a couple of dolphins but what ever was on my hook, which was quite large, managed to get off. Probably my fault since this type of fishing and equipment was new to me. The idea of what amounts to gears on the reel, the fact that the line is held out on an outrigger until the fish strikes, a freezer for bait, a cooler for the caught fish, it's all new to me so maybe I did something wrong and allowed the thing to escape. I made up for it, as far as I'm concerned, a little later by hooking a small yellow fin tuna. The catch at the end of the day was four dolphin, two small tuna and a wahoo. I don't know what normal catches are but I was thrilled with that!

We got back to Nelleke and cleaned the fish at the cleaning station and were a wee bit startled at looking into the water and seeing a lot of snapper plus a large barracuda swimming about having their dinner. Makes you realize what it down there when you hop in the water for a swim. You certainly do not want to do so when anyone is cleaning fish.

Barb had made us chicken with Bahamian peas n rice for diner last night and this morning she did a treat with pancakes and bacon which helped prepare us for the chores of bailing out of the dingy. During the night we got 5.5" of rain, so much so that one trimaran actually sank at the mooring. That was quite a surprise as it was a Boston Whaler and I was under the impression that they had significant floatation enclosed in the construction. Apparently not this one as I am looking at it upside down at the mooring and I think that the only reason it isn't totally submerged is that one of the hulls is on the bottom.

More for today later in another post.

Comments