S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Helping out and stuff

I have a small job that I have been asked to do for the Hope Town Lighthouse. There is a committee that is responsible for making repairs and general maintenance and they have asked me to have a look at the electrical stuff in the building. It will likely be quite antiquated but I will add to this post this afternoon once I have gone through it with some of the committee members. I won't do the work for two reasons: 1. I am not licensed in the Bahamas, and 2. I won't take work away from a Bahamian. I went up with Will from Natural Magic who is an American architect and more current with the technology and standards than I am. What a monkey's breakfast! The breaker boxes were ancient. There was only 30A power running to several of the buildings including the lighthouse keepers' residences. The wire in the lighthouse was exposed and stapled to the cement walls and not in conduit. And that was just the start. Someone is going to have a good job to fix the things that we found and do the modifications that we recommended.

Oddly enough I must have missed part of the conversation yesterday as apparently I was supposed to go to the coffee shop this morning to meet the committee which I obviously didn't do. There was no one at the lighthouse nor aboard Scaramouche so we went into town to do our banking where we happened to stumble across the committee. We made an appointment for 1300 to meet a lady named Annie Potts who is the fount of all knowledge about the lighthouse. For some reason her name is familiar to me. Once I met her I still don't know why we should know her. I know there was a Woody Allen movie of that name but still..... Note form Barb - I have reminded Mike that their is an actress of the same nipamenthat was on Designing Women in the dark ages...

Tonight there was another dingy drift in the harbour and I made up some devilled eggs for our contribution. These things are always fun and a great chance to meet new people. Speaking of meeting people, we are anxiously awaiting the arrival of Vince and his crew person aboard Finn MacCool. We will have to have them over for dinner and a few wobbly pops for sure. The dingy drift was good fun and drift was the operative word. The wind was enough that we actually had to tie up to a mooring. Normally we could have one guy in the raft start up his outboard and push the mob up to windward but that evening there was so much wind one outboard just couldn't do it.

Comments