S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Winter Projects - Mast Ladder

Pretty much done and actually used several times. I can't imagine why I hadn't done this before. Oh. Wait. Sure, I know why. Fifty steps at $16/step. That's why.

11/22/2007 11:17:56

As I have stated elsewhere in a sub-blog, it is not an easy undertaking to lower the masts on NELLEKE. This means that for any work on the mast - replacing light bulbs, restringing halyards, adding new equipment, someone has to go up the mast in the bos'ns chair. I don't mind being the chair rider but I am a little nervous about the Admiral being the one cranking the winch. I'm not small and she isn't particularly muscular.

My answer is to have steps up the masts which I can climb and she can pull the chair up with me.

We decided to install the folding steps so that when not in use they are down and out of the way. They also happened to be cheaper than the A-frame version.

Comments