S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Here I go again. Somebody STOP me!

I can't help it. The previous post was submitted over breakfast coffee which might account for the number of typos but it also didn't explain all that happened during the day.

As posted, I did sand down the hull with our brand new, apparently no name, drywall sander that I bought through Amazon.com. It worked a treat and we were done about 1400 but then something make me take out my trusty handy dandy paint scraper and before you could say, "where'd it all go" I had several big patches scraped down to the gel coat. The odd thing was that the paint was flaking of only on one side which I have attributed to the fact that that side was facing south east for two years and got the benefit of all the sun and with the hot days and cooler nights the paint was dried and ready for flaking. Just one more reason for not abandoning a boat in Florida for too long.

At any rate, since we were down to gel coat that means we need primer again and it was quite the adventure to find someone that sells Americoat here in America.....go figure!? We did find someone in Fort Lauderdale to tomorrow we have an early morning road trip to get a can. This all means that we have set back our launch date by a day until Friday or a week from today. Sigh. I do know better. I just don't remember to know better.

On the plus side, I think we are slowly getting used to the heat. Thank heavens!

Comments