S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

So, what’s the Admiral been up to?

So, lest you all think that I have been lolling about at home on the sofa, reading novels in air conditioned comfort....

Once I got the cast off my foot (a spot of surgery in April) I was back in my workshop starting on a series of projects that have kept me in front of the Sailrite LSZ sewing machine. I have finished the stack pack for our mizzen - we haven't installed it yet as it is pointless to do so until the major project of shoring up the base of the mizzen mast is finished. From there I made new curtains for the 7 ports in the main cabin - those haven't been installed yet either - that will wait until the cabin is back to rights after all of the refits that are in play and the interior of the cabin has been scrubbed down.

I banned Mike from my workshop today for long enough to make him another birthday present.
The stack pack for the mainsail is about 2/3 complete - I expect to finish that on Monday.

During all of this boat-sewing I have completed quite a few sail and canvas repair jobs and upgrades to previously delivered projects for some of the folks here in Shelburne.
So, I still have more sewing projects on the list for Nelleke - bug screen inserts for the three overhead hatches, a padded storage bag for the two additional solar panels, Sunbrella covers for the foam rollers on the Arch-bishop, and more Sunbrella duffel bags just for starters.

I'll post some photos of my work at a later point but certainly before we leave port.

Comments