S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Second late evening post for the day

I am thumbing this post late the day that I had already made a post so I could get my points down before I forgot them.

There are times at I could just kick myself. After all the stuff was done on the boat in readiness for a departure tomorrow, instead of doing the smart thing and getting off an awkward dock, I decided to stay simply for the convenience of getting ashore. Well, after Barb and I had a nice walk, and after we did the last reasonable thing that we would need to be ashore for we came back aboard and settled in. Then the wind picked up. Not a lot. Not like a couple of nights ago but enough to be causing us problems alongside the fuel dock. The biggest problem was that we were being blown along the dock and we were at low tide so there was no way I could do the lines and control the boat at the same time. And I couldn't put Barb ashore to do the line for, how was she going to get back aboard? Fortunately the crew of Grace came to our rescue and handled the lines while Barb recovered them aboard and I drove the boat. I only thought about going out to anchor but Barb also came up with the idea of going around to the marine terminal which is the commercial dock here in Shelburne. Grace, Muktuk (the Belgian boat) and the Austrian boat had all come over here during the bigger blow a couple of nights before and they had only good things to say. So, after we got away from the dock we motored over and found a very sheltered little nook where we tied up beside the Cook's feeder barge. Grace had already told us that we will need to be off around 08h00 tomorrow as the crew of the barge will arrive then and want to get to work. No problem for us as we are usually up by 06h00 anyway.

Anyway a shout out to SMT, to Cook's feeder barge, and an especially loud shout for the crew of Grace. What could have been very unpleasant became another adventure.

Comments