S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

All the worrying, all the work.....

Sometimes I lie awake at night worrying that I won't be able to get everything that I need done finished before departure this fall with enough time to have a shakedown cruise as well as cover off all of the other stuff that we have to do around the house, and on the
Westfalia as well as perhaps making a camping trip or two as well as the riverboat trip that we have scheduled for the end of August.

Then today rolls along and I realize for the umpteenth time that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step, followed by another, and then another, and sooner or later you glance around and realize that you have made progress. I grant that my lengthy job list has morphed from " it'd be great to get all these done before we set off" to "we absolutely must do these before departure, these we can do en route, and these can wait". Once I got my head around that, peace reigned.

Today I finished repairing the water leak damage in the pilot house and have run the RAM mike extension back to the binnacle and moved the connector coupling from the back of the cockpit seat over to the binnacle itself. I have also begun to install the USB plugs for in the cockpit and will finish that once I have the Admiral's second pair of hands and eyes to help on Friday.

Tomorrow we will be heading into Halifax to get insulators spliced into our backstay and to buy a new course computer and control head. A second benefit is that the package comes with a new direction sensor so our old fluxgate compass will be superfluous and maybe I will be able to use it with the chart plotter to allow radar on chart display.

Have to keep with the positive outlook......

Comments