S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Winter Projects - For the Brain

There is more to preparation than working on the boat. Sometimes we forget that there should always be something new for us to learn or additional training to receive.

As mentioned in another post, this winter I am leaning all my efforts to planning the trip and educating myself on what I might expect en route. Barb, the Admiral, on the other hand, has registered herself in another CPS course or series of courses. The local Squadron is offering a trio of courses in VHF, GPS and RADAR.

This is great! I have been hoping that the Admiral would get more familiar with some of the technology aboard and I think that this will be a great way for her to do it. I could have taught her this myself but there are always problems with family members teaching other family members. Remember trying to learn to drive from Dad? First, he may not have been the greatest teacher, and then he may have had some bad habits and not realized it. Same applies to teaching radio procedure, RADAR and GPS. We know the fellow who will be the instructor. He should be pretty good at it since he is in the training business. Plus he is an outsider from the family and this always helps.

Comments