S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Struggling to get ahead

We are getting closer with Nelleke to being completely ready for departure. In fact, I was hoping that today I would be putting the finishing touches to the electronics but such was not to be.

Why?

Well, in the spring we had promised some good friends that we would help them get their boat ready. If you look back in these posts you will see me speaking about Emma and our friends Jamie and Julie. My stuff was done but Barb had been held back by availability of parts and material. Today was supposed to be her final day and the dodger and Bimini combination that she had been working on. All we had to do was put a safety grab rail between the dodger bows. Simple, right? Well, it would be if some knucklehead (me) didn’t drop a key part into the drink. This key part is only available from the US so it won’t be arriving before we leave. Now I have to tell Jamie and Julie that their boat won’t be finished until next year! And it’s all my fault!

Sob!

Sniff!

Snivel!

Oh well. Tomorrow I will get done what I wanted to get done today and Monday I will have a final day of gardening - harvesting the horseradish, picking the grapes, planting the garlic, and planting a couple of trees that we got for free.


Comments