S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Two sleeps and a wakie.....

.....as we used to say in the army.

Noon and Barb and I are both neck deep in work to get to final readiness. She, getting the house closed up, and I, the final few small details on the boat.

I had a couple of bad moments when I discovered that the shower line in the head had rusted through and was NS or non serviceable as we used to say. Also I discovered that the apartment washing machine that we were so tickled to get on board couldn’t be hooked up to the existing plumbing. In the former case it was a matter of getting a new tap faucet to replace the old perished on and in the latter once again my EME background stood me in good stead as I was able to “buckshee” up a fitting that will do quite nicely.

I also took the opportunity to test the anchor windlass again. We don’t want to be trying to anchor somewhere at night only to find out that something is wrong with it. It works fine.

This afternoon I will be filling up the water tanks while we have a shore supply and doing a couple more little electronic jobs. Then we should be good to go.

Comments