S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Land Ho.....

......Cape Cod in view.

Sunday at 03h30 and what a difference a few hours makes.

Since my last posting the wind and sea came up. A lot! Not what was forecast at all. We reduced sail. We altered our course to help with the angle of attack to wind and wave. But all was in vain. The cam cleat for the roller furling for our jib pulled out of the deck. Add to the above that we were very tired and getting really seasick we decided to heave to for a few hours to see what that would do. The inside of the cabin is a shambles. We did bring along a lot more consumable stuff than usual but even things that had always stayed in place were everywhere. We were both able to grab a few hours of sleep and now as of writing this be are back underway. At 07h30 I went forward to untangle the port jib sheet which had managed to get itself wrapped around one of the dorades. Our inflatable dingy and kayak had almost been pounded out from under the tie downs that were supposed to keep them in place and the winch handle that we keep forward was inching its way overboard. Everything took a hammering both below and on deck. Leaving Nelleke somewhere south and traveling back and forth to her is starting to look really good after last night.

Aw crap! I was up on deck and starting to be a happy sailor that the wind has come around out of the north and the seas have settled. But then when I was trying to tighten the jib luff I saw that will all the banging around yesterday the head ring has torn out. That means not only a climb up the mast but also a sail repair.

Sigh!

I hate climbing the mast.

At least I have Barb here with the sewing machine and she tells me that she might even have a replacement ring .

It looks like the Friday departure curse wasn't done with us. The list of failures grows! Our sneaky way of leaving our dock space and moving to another on the face dock didn't fool or appease the weather witches at all

Really!

Forgive us!

We won't leave on a Friday again! Ever!

Meanwhile we plod on. The damaged jib is down in in the forward cabin waiting for a spot where Barb can work her magic and the iron topsail is pushing us toward Cape Cod at about 7 knots. We have decided to anchor somewhere at P'town for the night and to get ourselves a little sorted and to wait for the tide at the Canal. I am looking forward to a meal that isn't eaten from a mug or from between two pieces of bread. Usually we eat much better than that. After all we did write a cookbook for sailors. But with both of us seasick soup and sandwiches were the best either of us could do.

Coming up to lunch time and the winds are picking up again only this time they are from starboard aft quarter. Makes for a rolly steam but still it is in the direction that we want to go. I made lunch on the hop as Barb was getting some rest. I say hop because that is what you do when the kitchen is moving through all three axes of motion.

We are 30 miles off Cape Cod and I am expecting to pick up a cell signal in another hour or so. When I do I will download another forecast, although I am getting cynical enough to question why, since at this time of year the best forecasters are guessing. Then I will begin to upload the posts. Two I will do immediately, Friday's and yesterday's. Then, later, after we are in, I will post today's.

Tomorrow the tide tables give that maximum ebb flow or east to west is at 14h00 so if we arrive at the mouth of the canal at that time we will ride the decreasing tidal current to the other end arriving just at slack to turn into Onset. That means we should be underway from Provincetown no later than 09h00 to cross the bay.

I will post this now and a shorter one later on.

Comments