S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Sunset at the dock

Addendum to the last post
... I don’t mean the last post as in the bugle call that we always used to play at sunset but here in the Bahamas we have our own last post that we play. It’s just that there is only one note and we play it on a conch horn. It takes some practice but almost anyone can eventually do it after a lot of spit and burps. I, myself, can get two notes an octave apart. I am seriously considering fitting a trumpet or bugle mouthpiece to my conch to see if that will make it easier. In fact I have a couple of friends who are horn players who might remember me that I could ask to play the conch with the trumpeter’s mouthpiece to see what sound they can get.

Alice Town Harbour is about as sheltered as you can get but as the sun was going down, for the first time since our stop here we were feeling a small portion of the oceanic swell coming into the harbour. Not unpleasant and certainly not dangerous but definitely not expected.

Comments