S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Second day in Jacksonville

Sunday 26 January 2020
Aw crap!

I ain't happy!

This morning when we awoke and I went to do my first parade on the engine we discovered that it had been spitting diesel fuel during our trip. The problem it seems is with the fuel feedback line which happens to be one thing that I don't have the right tool for.

Damn!

Gotta call in the professionals.

Double Damn! Today is Sunday! We may be here another day. No question about it. We have the name of a mechanic that it has been suggested that we don't call him until noon. So, even if he comes down this afternoon we won't be able to depart until tomorrow AM.

Crap! Crap! Triple Crap!!!

One small piece of possibly good news is that Monday and Tuesday we may be able to go offshore for a jump past Georgia and a big piece of South Carolina.

Fingers crossed about that.

Insert from Barb:

Picture this.

I was striding along the dock this a.m., dressed in all clean clothes - posture fully straight and determined to enjoy the cool but sunny morning. When I was a victim of a flyby pooping! A direct hit from saucy gull on my shirt, sweater and because of the striding, right down my left calf. Had I been lurching along with my usual hunched posture it would've been all down the top of my head.

Ewwww - but at least I was on my way up to do the accumulated laundry rather than on the way back.

Isn't it supposed to be good luck to be "decorated" courtesy of a bird?

I hope so.

20 years of sailing on Nelleke and this was a first.

Back to Mike.

We are counting on the luck and are asking our family back home to buy lottery tickets in our name.

We got hold of the mechanic and he knows the engine and has assured me he will be down first thing in the morning. That's tomorrow morning so we have lost a day. Oh well.

The damn RAM mic isn't working again and the one thing that I thought would fix it, namely removing the extension that I put in it prior to this trip didn't fix anything. So, we are going to have a hand held in the cockpit to deal with bridges and use the fixed VHF below.

This is enough to make a saint scream. Part of my problem now is that since we have made the decision and commitment to go home and bring Nelleke with us to sell I just want this to be over. Couple that with niggley things and a headcold it's hard to enjoy yourself with that foolishness going on.

Comments