S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Onto the dock

Today was still breezy but Barb and I brought Bearing to Heaven back to the dock to tie her up so that we can plug into the power supply. I went on board to examine where we're going to install the auto helm and to try to get a good firm idea of how I was going to mount the linear drive below decks. It looks like we caught a break in the available space for both the linear drive and also for the rudder sensor.

I had a good look at all the flares that are carried on board and they were all 10 to 15 years stale dated. So, we're taking some of our flares with us in case we get boarded to be able to prove to customs and Coast Guard both in Canada and the US that we have the necessary safety equipment.

We are back at the house and I am going to start cutting the mountings and begin to shape them. Then, tomorrow it's going to be a try, reshape, try again process until it fits perfectly and I can fasten it in place with heavy screws and 5200 adhesive.

With this boat the distance run for wires is going to be relatively short which is goodness because it means it doesn't have to be as heavy gauge for the power lines as it did on Nelleke. I have a good idea of where I'm going to mount the course computer and the electronic compass, so I can do that first thing tomorrow.

I had a look under the floorboards again to see if I can possibly see where there might be a leak in the diesel tank and the starboard water tank but I couldn't see anything so I guess it's going to be a matter of putting more water in the water tank and tracing the leak that way. I hope it's simply a matter of a detached hoses but you never know.

Barb, in turn, spent three hours repairing the sunguard cover on the 130 genny, so now that's fixed for the trip, but the new owners definitely need to get a working job for the boat.

Comments