S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Made it! Thanks heavens!

We’re here. Instead of a two day crossing, what day you to four? Or three and a half, as Barb has corrected me.

I am bag tired so this will not be one of my normal ramblings.

We were supposed to get 10-15 kts of wind on the stern with 1 m seas. Instead, we got 20-40 kts on the beam with 2 m seas building to 12.

What fun!

Barb and I were both on the Ralph and Huey diet and just after we cleared the province the bulkhead that I had attached the autohelm linear drive to gave way so for most of the trip I manually steered with a barf bucket between my knees. We slept when we hove to.

The best part of the second day was that we were approached no fewer that five times by multiple pods of dolphins. Not sure if it was multiple or the same group following us along.

On the third night Bearing to Heaven go tired of waiting, somehow managed to shake herself out of hive to and began sailing on her own towards Cape Cod albeit at 1.5 kts. Can’t complain.

The final day I woke at 4 AM and finally the winds we suitable so from 4 until 12 we ran with a broad beam reach at seven knots, sometimes hitting nine as we slid down a wave front and arrive in Provincetown at 1430. We have booked in to the marina her in a mooring for at least one night. They gave us a cut rate but it was still expensive at $2/ft for a mooring!

We have been in contact with customs and they told us to not leave until the Nrw Bedford office contact’s us. Don’t know when they will do that.

Comments