S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

A post after a long while

This is been a long summer of no sailing. We launched early in the spring and high hopes of getting away only to find out with the transmission or engine was shot. Doing my normal thing of trying to do it all myself I discovered there was a lot more to installing a new transmission than originally thought , Especially when you don't do the right measurements to start with. At long last, and by long last I mean three months, which was pretty much the entire sailing season up here, we were eventually ready to go. Then the weather set in and we were able to get away. Finally, in the dying days of the sailing season we got away for a three day cruise!

I am dictating this post to the blog from a mooring at McNutt's Island at the mouth of Shelburne Harbour which is as far as we got this year. Hopefully will do better next year. July

On the plus side this is giving me a great opportunity to get the boat completely ready for cruising next year. I have fixed a lot of the communications electronics, the plumbing, and some issues with the rigging, which I would not of done if I'd been in an excited frenzy to get away on trips. That means at the end of the day there is a silver lining to every dark cloud.

I will submit a couple of posts over the next couple of days while we were out here on this little mini cruise just to keep my hand in.


Comments