S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Installing the Watermaker

There certainly is a lot more to this than I originally thought.

The through hull for the water source was installed months ago when NELLEKE was up on the hard for the winter and we were able to install the pump and filter over the weekend. But the plumbing! Holy old moly, there's tubes everywhere! Plus there's the whole business of making the install of the various bits and pieces somewhere out of the way and yet accessible.

The attached photo is of the pilothouse cabin floor with the access hatches opened. At the top you can see Petunia Perkins, our diesel; and if you look closely you can see a pair of feet just barely sticking out from the floor to port. That's me installing the secondary filter in one of the less comfortable maintenance postions. I did discover that there is a lot of available space down there and the Admiral is making plans to fill it up.

Only two sleeps and a wakey left before we set off and I have been losing some sleep about all the stuff that I have left to do. Then, last night at about 2 in the morning I had what I call a gives a damn revalation. Nothing I have left do do is safety related. In fact it is all new. I have sailed without them before and I can again if I have to. I was finally able to sleep.

I have about 3 hours of plumbing left to do for the watermaker.

I have about 3 hours of improvements to do on the autohelm.

I have about 1 hour to do on the genset.

I have 1 hour to do on the comms station to tidy it up.

We have some small rigging adjustments to do and I'd like to bend on the No1 headsail before we start the trip.

We have to sort out and tidy up the cabin before Pat and Lisa can move aboard.

We need to replenish fuel and water and liquor cabinet. Food is already done.

Other than that we are about ready to go.

Comments