S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Barb's 2 cents worth from Yarmouth

We are sitting at a wonderful dock space in Yarmouth, waiting out the storm - it is a dream of a tie up that is owned by the town - large floating dock, power and water available, laundry and shower facilities - close by is a Clover Farm grocery store, two pharmacies, a bakery, liquor store and lots of gift shops. Paul, at the town marina, has been a fount of information - much appreciated! Worth a visit are two museums - the Yarmouth County Museum and Archives, and W. Lawrence Sweeney Fisheries Museum - there is also a Firefighter's Museum that we will duck in to tomorrow. We wandered in to a great wool and craft shop on the way back from the museum - I bought some lovely burgundy Briggs and Little wool that will make its way into some sail-boot socks.
It has been a quiet afternoon with the rain pelting away on Nelleke's cabin roof in time to Stan Rogers on the CD player - Mike has been making blog entries, Lisa is working on a traditional NS rug hooking picture of a sailboat kit from the same shop I bought my wool, Pat is buried in Bill Bryson's History of Almost Everything, Al the corpulent kitty is snoring on our bunk on top of the sleeping bags, Peri is snuggled up next to Lisa, and prior to this blog entry I was working on the cuff for a pair of socks from wool I bought at Tangled Skeins in Dartmouth prior to our departure.
Pat and Lisa leave us tomorrow to return to Halifax by the bus and back to work - we will miss them as it has been great to have their good company. I remain sad that we did not have more critter sightings while they were with us - we saw the odd seal and only a few dolphin - no whales.
The weather has been for the most part pretty crappy so far - no need for the sunscreen that I laid in as part of the provisions. For the first time in 30 years of boating I was spectacularly seasick on the first day out - had the presence of mind to whip off my brand new floater jacket before sticking my head over the side - could be something to do with the rough water plus the 4 glasses of wine I had the night before at Mike's retirement roast with no supper! Speaking of supper, it is about time I started on making ours - chicken korma and whatever else strikes my fancy tonight. That's it for now; let's hope that the worst of the storm has passed although very high winds are called for on Sunday

Comments