S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

At anchorage at Port Jefferson

I thought that I'd get this in today and now as we have access to the internet at the Port Jeff Library and I don't know how long it will be before we get to another - at least 2 days anyway.

We have decided to stay here another day as the long term forcast is favourable and there is a place that we can get to quickly that has either an nice anchorage or some open moorings. We won't be staying at the yacht club here another night - nice place, but expensive! $45! This does include tender service and bathrooms and showers, but $45!? Besides, this is the first time on the trip that there is a beach and water sufficiently warm to at least go wading.

Barb, Peri and I will do a little sunbathing and we'll await the arrival of Glass Slipper. If they get here tonight, perhaps they'll agree to another movie night and a joint dinner.

Off for a shower now. What's that Barb? Yea!? Do I reall smell that bad? COme to think of it, I do notice that the internet room at the library emptied shortly after I came in.

Look.

There they all are with their noses pressed up against the glass peering in at us.

Tomorrow an early start to City Island is called for.

Form Barb - well we have been away from home for a month now - in other years we would have been back at home hosing down the boat and dreading returning to work - quite different this year as we are pressing on to New York tomorrow - what do I miss - mostly a bath tub and secondly the secure knowledge that you know where to go to get things that you want/need in that familiar confines of your home port - and I miss the kids and KTs friends, my sailing friends and those I used to work with - and right now I wish a fairy godmother would alight and take me shopping in New York for an outfit and dump me in a spa and then put me on a plane for home in order to arrive in time for Nadine and Terry's wedding on Saturday - that's not too much to ask for is it????

Comments