S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Off to Indiantown.

Barb is back in home Halifax. She called from our daughter's last night around 2000 to let me know. Of course that is past cruiser's midnight so she woke me up but I was glad to hear that the flights went well. Nelleke sure seems empty without her.

At about 0930 we got off the docks at the Harborage a whole lot easier than I thought we would. Much of the success had to do with the assistance of Eric and Ellen as well as the Dockmaster, to say nothing of the wind easing up at a critical moment. We, Peri, Al and I, set off under the Roosevelt Bridge for the third time (I half expected the Bridgemaster to address me by name, instead of the ubiquitous "Captain" that they call everyone) and along the St Lucie canal system. I sure hope that the rest of the Okeechobee Waterway is as well maintained as this part is as there is plenty of water and very clearly marked.

Just before arriving at the lock there was the largest marina that I think I have ever seen including covered in water storage, for Pete's sake! I hate to think what the charges must be. We got to the St Lucie Lock just in time for them to have shut down for an hour or so for an inspection so we chased our tails in from of the gates for 45 minutes until they had satisfied bureaucracy and could lock us through. It wasn't time wasted, I can assure you. These locks on the Okeechobee are different from any other that I have been trough. They have no sluice gates so to flood or drain the lock they crack open the gates about a foot and let the water in. I watched them do this from the relative security of the downstream side while they were being inspected and I must say it was certainly impressive! The "flush" came out of the lock disappeared under turbulent water and emerged along the bank a couple of hundred yards downstream. There is certainly no need to dredge in that particular spot! When they finally opened up for me it wasn't without a little apprehension that I nosed into the lock. They provide the lines and advice as to how as a single hander I could manage the transit. I managed to tie off without major mishap but I was a little awkward in doing so it was obvious that it had been some time since I had gone through a lock solo. The gates opened the foot, the water rushed in, and I was like a monkey on a tree branch running back and forth shortening the bow and stern lines as the boat rose in the lock. Nothing disastrous occurred and in 15 minutes we were off on our way again.

Lake Okeechobee at one time must have covered hundreds of square miles more than it currently does since the only thing that maintains its present boundaries are a system of dykes very much like in Holland. They have drainage ditches and pumps to take the water out of the low lying farmland and pump it back up into the Lake or the canal. If the pumps were wind driven the Dutch analogy would be complete but they aren't. They all run off internal combustion and every half mile you start to hear "rrrruuuuummmmmmmm" of another pump's motor. From within the canal you don't get to see much of the surrounding countryside as it is all in behind the dykes, but every once in a while the countryside comes to view you. I would occasionally see a cow grazing on the top of the dyke.

Proceeding down the canal I would occasionally see a sight that could only be seen in Florida - 18 wheelers full to the brim with oranges bouncing down the highway to the plant. A truckload of Florida Sunshine!

At around two in the afternoon Nelleke arrived at the Indiantown Marina. Quite a nice place; particularly interesting when I found out that 70% of the people here are Canadians! We docked right in front of the office; paid our bill and went for a walk with Peri and guess who I see strolling up the path? Jim Corbet from AYC! I guess we are going to have a beer at the end of the day.

Comments