S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Burnt Store and meeting Duane and Dianne.

We arose quite early to get going only to find out from the Harbourmaster that the tides here are even later than those at Gulfport and we won't be able to get into the Marina until at least eleven o'clock. So I decided to work on the windlass. I almost wish I hadn't but I suppose that it was something that had to be done sometime. After a series of steps with increasing levels of "oh crap!" it turned out that the two switches that controlled the windlass were toast and because of that the windlass was too, necessitating the replacement of the anchor windlass - not a cheap undertaking.

As we were mulling over that happy thought I decided that I had had enough waiting for the tide and that we were going to weigh anchor manually and head in to the marina. So, up it came, and in we went. As we drew up to their channel we slowed right down so if we ran aground there'd be no damage and as we came into the canal we met our first American boating asshole. The channel was narrow and as we were coming through I had about a six foot width that I could successfully navigate so I was right in the middle. As we were halfway through there was a small fishing skiff coming out. I couldn't move over forcing him over to one side of the channel and as we came abreast I leaned over to apologize for taking up so much of the channel but didn't get a chance as he started to berate me be for not moving over to let him by. That is him drawing a foot and a half and met at six feet. I started to explain about "constrained by draft" and he kept on about "taking all the channel", so, and I apologize to all my American friends and all the other people that have shown us some great hospitality here during our cruise, but I lost it. After exercising my vocabulary we moved on only to run aground trying to get past the first set of docks. Some stiff negotiation later we were allowed to tie up at one of the first slips entering the marina - a little more of a walk to the Harbour Master's Office, restaurant, heads and showers, but at least we floated there.

I had gone down to the office to pay and met a fellow who told us that he could get a good deal on a new windlass and we made arrangements to meet later at Nelleke. He is one of the local contractors and can get parts wholesale which is usually at least about 30% below the catalogue price from West Marine or any of the other retailers. He will ask for a 10% mark up for his help - not a bad deal especially on something that costs a couple of thousand dollars.

I had just gone next door to the deli to buy Barb and I some lunch when a strange man walks up and says, in a booming voice, "They'll let anyone in there!" This was Duane who had finished work and was in looking for us. A quick trip to the boat to collect the Admiral and Duane, Diane, Barb and I went back to the marina's restaurant for "lupper" after which a trip back to the boat for digestifs and the meeting with the fellow about the windlass.

The gent who will be ordering the windlass and getting us a reduced rate came by with is catalogues and will be back tomorrow morning with another one. It would appear that we aren't going to get away with anything less than $2000 to replace the old Simpson Lawrence! Oh well. At least when hat is done we will have a greater sense of reliability about the actual technicalities of our anchoring if not the holding. My only concern is that the windlass must be 24VDC and must be able to handle our chain; otherwise we can add another $1000 to that price for more chain.

Since we will be spending two to three boat bucks less his discount on this latest problem and will be taking up Duane and Dianne on their king offer of a dock and moving on to thier place in Punta Gorda to wait for the delivery. Now that we have met them this hardly seems like a hardship so I am quite looking forward to it. Duane even has arranged for us to stay on a neighbours dock so we can be right ashore and have power etc. He is coming back tomorrow shortly after lunch to sail up with us, or rather, me, to their place to help me find it. Barb will be driving there with Dianne. (She is deserting me!) They are taking some folk out for a cruise on Monday night and Barb and I might tag along as crew. We even have our own white uniforms so we can ask as purser's staff. What I can't believe is that I am such a bonehead that I didn't put two and two together and realize that Duane and Dianne are the same couple and Diva D is the same boat that I was following in their blog last spring when they went across to the Bahamas for a cruise. In fact, it was their meticulous record keeping to track costs that has inspired us to do much the same sort of thing on our cruise. They have already helped us with some of our cruising plans regarding the Dry Tortugas and Marathon and as well, Duane, in his role as Coast Guard Auxiliary was able to set me straight on the limit at which I can start to pump overboard. I had thought that it was 3 miles but he corrected me to eleven miles. Good thing too. The Poop Police might have got us.

Comments