S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

The parts are here and a trip to Little Creek.

Little Creek, for those of you that may not be aware, is the USN SEAL training centre. It is quite a place, the first marina that I have ever gone into where every arriving yacht has to clear its arrival with a security RHIB that is on duty 24/7. Très intéressant at the very least to hail "Little Creek Harbour Control, this is the SV Li'll Henley, request permission to enter the marina..." and wait for a response.

Why were we there? Well, we were helping Maury take a Catalina 31 over there from Willoughby Bay for a festival of some sort that they are holding there tomorrow. He will be in attendance giving introductory rides in the hopes of encouraging people to join the association and take sailing lessons. We set off at about 0800 and except for a short initial period we had the wind dead on the nose and the current was against us so what should have been a 2 hour sail became a 3 hour motor. Nonetheless it was a very pleasant way to spend the morning and after we tied up we went ashore to the marina store where Jay bought a fishing rod and reel and several lures. I guess we are all going to try fishing on the way north. I hope we have better luck than we did on the way down.

Ginger came down in the MWR van with another employee, Pete, as the driver, and drove us back to Willoughby. We arrived back and Maury took me back to the Perkins dealer to pick up the parts that I had ordered. I now have three spare raw water impellers in the spare parts kit and eight oil filters. That should do me to get back to Halifax.

There is a particularly low tide today. Nothing for us to work about with the calm conditions, but Gypsy Sails with her beautiful long bowsprit was rubbing dangerously up against the dock. So, Barb, Jay and I rushed over to readjust them to hold her further aft and away from contact. Our good deed for the day!

Today has grown into a bright warm sunny day with low winds so I am taking advantage of it to get on deck chores done. Then I will get at the below deck stuff such as the oil change finished and we'll be ready for a start tomorrow if possible. It is looking very good for a long jump, maybe even as far as NYC. I quite excited at the prospect. The forecast winds are such that it looks like we'll even get to actually sail for a change. I have my fingers crossed that I don't jinx it with my enthusiasm.

Comments