S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

First post for the summer blog!

Here I am in the morning getting ready for my first day on the new job. Funny, this is the first time in 22 years that when I got up I have had to decide what to wear. That's one nice thing about a career in uniform. It's just that - uniform. We all wear the same thing. There is none of the business of trying to "dress for success" that everyone seems to get pumped up with in the business world, it's just CADPAT and jump boots topped off with a beret for us Army wogs. But today and for some of last night Nelleke was all a-fluffle with Barb and Kayt trying to decide for me what I was going to be wearing , from shoes to underwear to shirt and trousers. I'll be really happy when the novelty of this wears off.

The day was great at work. Funny to be saying that as I am supposed to be retired, but if I have to work somewhere and it's not as crew of one of the officers aboard a luxury yacht, then I'd pick working in a place like the Binnacle. Everyone seems to be enjoying themselves and I am able to make a contribution right away. My ability with some splicing was put to use right away as was my experience with a soldering gun. I helped one of the more experienced staff put together a coaxial connection for a customer and test it for operability. I even made a few sales! One good thing about working there is that I'll have first look at sales as they come out. For instance, there is a sale on for Sperry deck shoes - normally $110, now at $49 for the first pair and $39 for the second. Pretty good deal, if you ask me.

After work Barb picked me up in the car that had just returned from its safety check and we headed off to see the new Star Trek movie, which was very good too. I wasn't sure how they'd put together the younger versions of the original TV series Enterprise crew, but they did a superb job. They even had two of the lead characters in a romantic connection that wasn't there for the TV series. I won't tell you who. You'll have to go see the movie.

Comments