S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Sunday activities!

Sunday, Sunday, and we started to do the boat chores.

I made a quick trip to Piercy's, a local building supply store that I tend to frequent since the Piercy family has a military history, in fact, my first unit, a Service Battalion, had a General Piercy as its Honorary Colonel and he was a pretty good guy. There I bought a piece of plywood to rough out the tool cabinet in the middle cabin and by the end of the day I had cut out the two major pieces that will be the walls, the third and fourth walls being the existing bulkhead and small sections from the edge of the bottom bunk to the top and from the top bunk to the cabin ceiling respectively. I'd like to geth the tool cupboard done first, for then I'll have easiest access to the tools for all the rest of the jobs that we will be doing.

I have also installed a second smoke detector in the middle cabin and repaired the one in our cabin that needed a new battery. I have also sited a CO (carbon monoxide) detector which we will be placing back near our cabin but still in the salon. Since it is usually just us aboard, we need to have the detector closest to where we are, especially as we are the lowest cabin in the boat. We already have a fume detector in the bilge but I would also like to have one to sniff for propane before I feel fully covered.

I am also looking at the NMEA electronic junction box that I got for a song in Gulfport to install on the boat. It will be replacing the simple buss that is in the cabinet beside the companionway. This thing has the beauty of a clear front so we can see where all the little wires are leading, plus you can clearly see that, say, the NMEA Input 1 line from the GPS is going to all the devices that are expecting to see it and not accidentally to something else. Labelling is a snap, literally, you snap a label in place and junctions can be put in or taken out or crossed over as required. The kit even comes with a little planning diagram to make things easier. Neat!

We took a break in the work today to treat ourselves to another movie. With eight months away from the theatres we were starting to go through withdrawal symptoms and now that we're back we might be a little like a junky in crack heaven. We went to see the Night in a Museum - Battle of the Smithsonian, and the critics can go to hell - we enjoyed it!

Comments