S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

A posting two days in a row! Oh my!

A posting two days in a row is almost like we are back underway again, but it really isn't that. It's just that the famous Turney ego demands that we show off the finished product of the Tool Crib and warn you that tomorrow we'll have an underway shot of the companionway stairs cupboard. The good looking part of the Tool Crib is attributable to Barb's efforts with a dark stain and urethane, but the practicality of the final product is what thrills me. The only tools that are not in there are my two immediate tool grab bags, the arc welder, the pressure system, and the pressure washer. They were simply too big and as they are only used occasionally we chose to store them in more inaccessible places. Everything else - my carpentry tools including the power tools - drill press, band saw, circular saw, reciprocal saw, jig saw, router, and the myriad of sanders and drills are all in there, along with my electrical tool kit, plumber's kit, mechanics kit and about 5 different planes. Pretty handy place if you ask me and it will act as the back of the office chair that will be going on the floor in front of it. The bunk cabin is about to become the ship's office with the dresser becoming a computer desk and the bunks being used as a secondary duty place for visitors to sleep or for the crew to rest during offshore passages. The two laptops will be located in there and LANed to the ships computer. That way they will serve as the printer server and the ship's computer will be the server for the internet connection. Sounds almost like I know what I'm doing don't it? Fooled ya!

Today has been a gorgeous day in the neighbourhood, with bright sunshine and warm temperatures. After getting as much progress as we did on the Tool Crib we treated ourselves to a dip in one of the Squadron's pools. Man that was very nice, and then refreshed, we came back to work. We can't work too late since we need to spend some time tidying up as tomorrow is the big New Member Night down here. Apparently, the Squadron starts things off in the Wardroom with drinks, appetizers, kind words from the Committee of Management and then we all repair down to the docks to visit each others' boats. The club keeps the wheels spinning so to speak by having carts full of ice and liquid refreshments rolling about the docks and the new members are supposed to have finger foods etc. to offer when folks arrive to welcome them. Sounds like a great way for the newbies to meet and greet the oldbies, doesn't it. We are really looking forward to it and I have even arranged with work to ensure that I have the early shift so I can get off in time to make it for all of the festivities.

The trip finances are ready for distribution but as I said yesterday, you'll have to send me your e-mail address for me to send you the detailed spreadsheet. A couple of you have suggested and even encouraged me to write an accompanying article and submit it to one or more of the sailing magazines for consideration. Being weak willed and easily led, I believe I will do just that. If nothing else it will be interesting to see if the editors have as much interest in it as we and many of our readers have.

Comments