S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Our 31th Anniversary, Harry Potter as a present and boat work

We awoke Wednesday morning to the realization that we have been putting up with each other, otherwise known as married, for 31 years. Even with the occasional down I count myself as lucky to have found someone who shares my goals as much as the Admiral. Imagine what things would be like if she didn't like cruising. Frankly I'm not sure what I would be doing right now. As I have stated elsewhere on this blog, we have met a lot of couples during our travels, all sharing the dream and the lifestyle, but those of us on their first relationship were in the minority. So, I guess that I'd have either given up the dream or the relationship and I can't imagine not having Barb to share things with so I guess I know what the answer to my question is. We bought each other those e-book readers for our anniversary presents and I thought that I'd be sneaky and get her some pearl ear rings to match the necklace that I bought her for the 30th last year. I went to some lengths to pretend that I'd forgotten and that I hadn't been able to find what I wanted to get and then to have them waiting for her along with the card on the pillow in the bunk, only to find out that she was being equally sneaky and had bought me a 110V power charger for the e-book reader as my gift. I guess in sneakiness we are well suited.

As a treat and a break from the boat projects we treated ourselves to the new Harry Potter movie and dinner at the Wardroom. Then, watching the new instalment made us realize that we had missed one while we were away, so we rented it to watch in the evening.

Meanwhile, the fridge replacement is coming along nicely; in fact we are almost finished, much to Barb's impatient delight. The photo in today's post will give you some idea of the turmoil that my carpentry projects keep the cabin in, and it only shows a part of the salon. The rest is even more cluttered. Once the fridge is in place then most of it will be able to be put away. Of course I still have two more carpentry projects in the cabin, but with any luck they should be a lot easier to accomplish. We have bought the drawer parts already from Lee Valley Tools so I am hoping that they will be a simply matter of a prefab install, unlike the fridge which necessitated not only a difficult removal of the old fridge but also the construction of a cabinet around the new one.

Comments