Neverland Journey

Adventures since 2011

Boat in the water

Neverland was launched on Aug 30. I took her directly to Marina Alicante. It sure is great to be living aboard again instead of paying for a hotel. I even get to cook my own meals and get my beer from my refrigerator. I have stayed busy working on projects to get the boat ready for the voyage. I have checked all the sails and rigging to be sure all the reefing points are doable. I had the life raft serviced and decided to have it repacked in a hard case. We have been bouncing it around in the cockpit when underway and used it a a seat on many occasions. I ordered a mounting bracket to put on the cabin roof (another project). It should arrive Monday evening. I had purchased a drogue to slow the boat speed if need be. It should also halp the downwind sailing to be more stable by holding the stern into the waves. I am preparing all the lines to be able to throw it off the stern when the need should arise. I will be splicing some thimbles in the ends of some 1/2" anchor rode to make up the tow line. I woke up this morning to one of the few rain storms I have seen in Alicante. During boat storage the dinghy was on the fore deck covering the forward hatch. Now that the dinghy is hanging from the davits the water came pouring thru the hatch. Upon investigation I could see daylight come thru between the gasket and the base. I had replaced these gaskets with 1/2" diameter material about 18 years ago. The seal integrity never has been very good. I ordered some 5/8" diameter material from McMaster Carr and will replace the old stuff on both hatches when we come back at the end of the month. The beach here is real nice but there sure are a lot of people on it. Seems that they come from all over western Europe to lie next to each other while they worship the sun. The rigging inspection for the insurance company was completed before the boat was launched. Unfortunately, I have been unable to make contact with the guy to find out where his report and invoice are. Yup, that means Neverland is still under port risk and i am not supposed to take her out. I hope it can be cleared up soon so i can enjoy being out on the water. That's it for now. I'm still stowing things and packing up things I no longer need to take home. I'll probably be carrying home about the same amount of stuff I brought over this trip. And then we will bring over another load of stuff.

Comments