S/V Sally Ann

Just getting on this blog, be patient.

05 May 2011 | Scopus, Mo
25 April 2011 | Scopus, MO
11 April 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
05 March 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
24 February 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
22 February 2011 | Port O
21 February 2011 | Port O
18 February 2011 | Port O
18 February 2011 | Port O

History

18 February 2011 | Port O
I got quite a bit done today. The waxing is almost done and I got some of the sanding finished, also. The bottom needs a repaint of anti-fouling paint to keep the barnacles off. It has copper mixed in and is quite expensive but it only needs done every two to three years. The old dried up paint has to be sanded and cleaned up so the new will stick. I can't afford to pay someone $900 to do the job so I'll do it myself, got lots of time.

Now would be a good time for a little history. I have wanted a sailboat for a long time but work and other obligations got first priority. When I retired at age sixty-two, I started watching the prices on eBay. I couldn't believe how low the used boat prices were. I know used airplane prices went through the roof in the last few years. I sold my Cessna 172 in 2002 for seven thousand more than it cost new in 1965.

In September, after a year of studying my eBay watch list I found a couple possibles in Wisconsin. My sister Paula lives up in Illinois so I went to her place and we made our little shopping trip up north past Chicago. She had her own sailboat years ago when she lived in San Diego so I figured she'd know more about them than I would since I've never even been on one before. Also, she's my favorite sister and I like her company. We came back somewhat disappointed but a little wiser. I got the idea that eBay is not a good place to buy a boat. You can't look at what you're buying until after it's bought or in this case after it has been listed and didn't sell for whatever reason.

I went back to Missouri boatless but with a plan. I'll get my money together and survey Craig's list to see what I can come up with. Now, to make a short story long I finally found what I was looking for in Huntsville, AL and gave the guy a call. He was asking $2500 for boat, motor and trailer so I asked if he'd take two, he agreed and I loaded up the motorhome and headed out from Lake Wappapello in southeast MO. Twenty-nine hours and 700 miles later I was back in MO with a 1977 Chrysler C-22 boat with an eight horse Honda outboard and a very nice EZ Loader roller trailer. The boat was a little rough around the edges but the price was right.

I wanted to put the boat in and sail around the lake there in MO but the guys said the water was way too shallow for a boat with a keel. So, from there I went down to Arkansas for the holidays and visited an old friend who does cedar furniture and started on an upgrade project that may very well be an endless task. I dearly love the grain and coloration of cedar, it is so much prettier that Teak and has most of the same weatherproof qualities.

The weather never did get good enough to sail the lakes of north Arkansas as November turned into December. I couple days after Christmas I loaded up the motorhome, hooked up the boat and headed south to where the weather is better suited to my clothes. South Texas is a little warmer than Arkansas or Missouri and spring comes a little earlier.

I have spent the past month and a half in Victoria, TX working on the boat when I could and staying warm while I wait for the coming of spring and good sailing weather. Then last Monday I moved down here to Port O'Connor, a port right on the ICW. I'm in a very nice, friendly RV park and there is another sail boater here to talk to. Things are looking up, maybe I'll get to splash the boat soon. I'm hoping.

lps
Comments
Vessel Name: Sally Ann
Vessel Make/Model: !977 Chrysler C-22 Fixed Keel
Hailing Port: Port O'Connor, TX
Crew: Just me
About: Maybe I can con somebody into going along.

excavman

Who: Just me
Port: Port O'Connor, TX