S/V Sally Ann

Just getting on this blog, be patient.

05 May 2011 | Scopus, Mo
25 April 2011 | Scopus, MO
11 April 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
05 March 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
24 February 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
22 February 2011 | Port O
21 February 2011 | Port O
18 February 2011 | Port O
18 February 2011 | Port O

Bottom paint

24 February 2011 | Port O'Connor, TX
Larry

Painting almost done, all I have to do is roll her forward and paint 16 little bare spots and touch up around the keel.

I had to do a patch job on the rudder, the PO said he motored into a shallow spot and the rudder kicked up into the prop and the prop was hungry. I mixed up some fiberglass jellied resin stuff from Wal-Mart and layed it out on wax paper, added some fiberglass cloth for strength and slapped it in place using the wax paper to shape it the way I wanted it. When it is almost set take the paper off.

I sanded all the old hull patches, thought about redoing them and decided not to, they held up this long, don't fix it if it ain't broke. Whoever did the old patches didn't sand them very good and didn't prime them either. I am firm believer in using primer. I did have reservations about using primer under the bottom paint so I did the rudder first and painted it. After drying overnight the paint was still looking good so I primed the rest of the patches. When in doubt do a small spot first so you don't have to redo the whole thing if it doesn't work.

I think it came out really nice, Sally Ann will be the prettiest girl at the ball --- or the ICW.

lps
Comments
Vessel Name: Sally Ann
Vessel Make/Model: !977 Chrysler C-22 Fixed Keel
Hailing Port: Port O'Connor, TX
Crew: Just me
About: Maybe I can con somebody into going along.

excavman

Who: Just me
Port: Port O'Connor, TX