Dermot's NW Passage voyage on board Young Larry

23 September 2010 | Just left Nome
23 September 2010 | Just left Nome
17 September 2010 | Approaching Nome
11 September 2010 | 25 miles east of Point Barrow
11 September 2010 | 25 miles east of Point Barrow
10 September 2010 | Beaufort Sea
09 September 2010 | Beaufort Sea
08 September 2010 | Approaching Demarcation Point
06 September 2010 | Herschel Island
05 September 2010 | The rather splendidly named Beluga Bay- despite its absence of said whales so far
04 September 2010 | Tuktoyaktuk
03 September 2010 | Approaching Tuktoyaktuk
02 September 2010 | Franklin Bay
02 September 2010 | Franklin Bay
02 September 2010 | Franklin Bay

Half-way there

01 August 2010 | Ottawa
Dermot O'Riordan
Just off to Ottawa airport having had a brief but much needed kip in airport hotel.

The main drama of journey so far was gut-wrenchingly unpleasant. Transatlantic flight delayed by head-winds and spent most of it thinking I would not have time to make the connection in Chicago to Ottawa.Fortunately that too was delayed.

Was freshening up in the airside "washroom"and turned round to dry my face etc. Went to pick up things and my wallet wasn't there with passport, US Visa, boarding pass, cash etc, etc!! By now 10pm local time, 4am UK time and everything looking very very gloomy.

The x-ray screening staff called Chicago Police and took me to find them.When I got there, there were leafing through my stuff as my wallet had been handed in. I'd left it on the bench when I was putting shoes back on after security!

Very, very lucky.

Message here to quote Liz is that I need a good woman to look after me. In the meantime I am going to buy a money belt.

And yes, Eleanor, it is the same wallet I left on transfer at LAX airport....

Not fly North now in three hops in gradually smaller planes.

I still don't know if Young Larry has got past the ice in Baffin Bay to be able to meet me in Pond Inlet.
Comments
Vessel Name: Young Larry