Ocean Dove

02 November 2012 | China
14 April 2012 | Port Dalhousie
14 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
02 April 2012 | Vineland
01 April 2012 | Vineland
01 April 2012 | Vineland
01 April 2012 | Vineland
31 March 2012 | Vineland
30 January 2011 | Vineland Ont. Canada
18 January 2011 | Vineland Ont. Canada
07 January 2011 | Vineland Ont. Canada
01 January 2011 | Vineland Ont. Canada
30 December 2010 | Vineland
09 May 2010 | St.Catharines Ontario
08 May 2010 | St.Catharines Ontario

Propeller Chooses

08 April 2010 | St.Catharines Ontario
Derek
Propeller Chooses

I wanted a propeller with less drag and prop walk then Ocean Dove's original three bladed 18X12 propeller. I had been looking at feathering propellers from various manufactures.
Feathering propellers greatly reduced propeller drag under sail when the propeller blades are feathered and prop walk is mostly eliminated when going astern. The propeller pitch is adjustable so you can be set it for your hull and engine condition and tweaked it as needed. The ease at which propeller pitch can be adjusted depends on the manufacture but most can be done in the water with mask and snorkel or diver.
On most feathering propeller the pitch can be set different for ahead and astern as some gearboxes have different gear ratio for ahead and astern.
The price tag for most feathering propellers are between $3000 and $4000.
Like most mechanical things the feathering propeller have moving parts that require yearly maintenance (greasing and zinc replacement), and components that wear i.e. gears, and bearing that must be repaired or rebuilt over time.
Most propeller shaft must be modified to accommodate the feathering propeller.
The Maxi prop seems to be the feathering propeller of choice among the Whitby 42 owners group and is the most expensive.

After a Google search for "sailboat propellers Canada" I came across the Campbell Sailer Propeller manufactured by West by North in BC Canada
http://www.westbynorth.com/CampbellSailer.aspx

Campbell Sailer is a manganese bronze 3 bladed fix propeller with a slim blade design.
The Campbell Sailer propeller is said to minimize the problems of drag when sailing and prop walk going astern.
I Googled "Campbell Sailer propeller" and found a number of positive comments in different sailing and cruising forums. I emailing other users of CS propellers and again everything I heard was positive; it performed well under sail and power.
I liked the simplicity of a fix propeller, efficient, no maintenance, and thrifty compared to a feathering propeller.

I continued the debate in my head feathering or fix propeller.

The moment I made up my mind was the first time I had a Campbell Sailer propeller in my hands. I had stopped into Eastern Marine in Toronto to see Paul the service manager. I started to discuss my repowering of Ocean Dove and the topic moved to the propeller. I mentioned that I was looking at a Cambbell Sailer Propeller and said that the propeller was made in BC, the blades were very narrow and deeply cupped. Hold on a minute he said and disappeared into the shop only to reappear with a CS propeller in hand. One of his customers had repowered his sailboat and as he wanted to race not cruise he changed to a two bladed folding propeller.
The propeller was CSRH16x12 to small for Ocean Dove but it was the first time I physically had a Campbell propeller in my hands.
My first impression was the blades width and blade area was very small compared with a regular propeller. The blades leading edge was thick with cupped area behind it. Ocean Doves original propeller has a very fine leading edge on the blades and there are a number of repairs were it has been damaged in the past
Paul's commented on the blade thickness. "looks like a commercial propeller that could cut through logs floating around out there in BC without damaging it".
I was sold! It was simple, solidly built, and less blade area= less drag.

I spoke with Norm from West by North and emailed him the HP/Torque graphs and spec. for the Vetus VH 4.80 I was installing in Ocean Dove. Norm recommended a CS3RH18x10x1-1/4 for Ocean Dove's new engine. I should have max cruising speed between 2200-2600 rpm, this is in line with the maximum torque 170 NM @2200 and best fuel consumption 191 9/hp.h @ 2500 rpm.
West by North is also supplying a new propeller shaft of Aqualmet 22.
With some luck I will have the new propeller and shaft installed the beginning of May and Photos to share.
Comments
Vessel Name: Ocean Dove
Vessel Make/Model: Whitby 42
Hailing Port: St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Crew: Derek and Darlene
About: Derek is a Marine Engineer Darlene is a Register Nurse

Captain and Admiral

Who: Derek and Darlene
Port: St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada